dylansmom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hypochondria

Oops, it's been a while since I've been out here. . .

I have a cold, and it sucks because I hate being sick. HATE it. Not only that, this is the 4th cold I've had in the last 2 months. I guess that's because I have a child in daycare now (daycare = hot zone of illness, for those who don't know). Funny thing is, Dylan's only been sick twice. WTF? Although I guess I should actually be grateful about that, because when we're both sick together, it's miserable. And it kills me to see him not feeling well.

I tend to be a bit of a hypochondriac. For instance, this morning in the shower, I felt a twinge of pain in my lower right abdomen, and I immediately thought, "Appendicitis! This could be the first sign of appendicitis." When in fact it's probably just a slight muscle strain or something--it can't be much, because it hasn't bothered me since. I'm such a wuss. I complain about every little headache, sore throat, and twinge of any kind, convinced that it's some BIG THING. And of course, it never is. But for some reason, when I have really, REALLY bad pain--migraine or, as I recently found out, labor pains--I miraculously shut up and bear the pain in silence, just when I should actually probably be telling someone about it. Too weird.

My husband, on the other hand, is very different. Hardly ever sick, and when he is, it's really something. The first time he called in sick at his current job, he thought he had a stomachache--by 10AM that day, I was taking him to the doctor, and by 4:30 that afternoon he was in surgery having his appendix removed. The last time he skipped work because of upper respiratory infection symptoms, he ended up having walking pneumonia. And this week, he went to the doctor on Monday with a backache and some sciatic pain, and it turns out he probably has a herniated disk. He's been out on bedrest since then and is getting an MRI tomorrow. Now, from a hypochondriac's perspective, he's a hero--the man hits the jackpot every time he goes to see a doctor. But somehow I doubt he'd see it that way.

1:04 p.m. - 2005-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mom-of-two
biodtl
dooce
amalah